By Sebastian Bishop ’17

Students at a local English 200 class reported finding what can only be referred to as “the best thing since getting a gold star if you read this far” hiding inside their classroom. And no, it’s not the collection of Shakespeare’s greatest works on one of the bookshelves. It’s a cryptic and deep poem etched into a desk next to a penis drawing and BA ’17 (initials we can only assume belong to Bob Agorilla). The poem reads:

 

The windows are open in here.

A warm spring breeze flows through the rooms-

And yet I’ve never felt so cold.

 

I came here in search of freedom and knowledge-

But this safe haven has turned into my prison.

Alone in my cell-

My happiness and state of mind locked out-

Let them go, they deserve better than this.

 

They promised me freedom-

But how can I be free if I’ve been taught

To accept that life is pain?

 

I am dead inside.

 

Wow! They were right by calling this “the best thing since getting a gold star if you read this far”! This poem is filled with rich metaphors and tone. Scholars are baffled at the possible things the prison can represent. Is it America? Academic institutions? A large, and at times overwhelming, liberal bias? I guess we’ll never know. The prose this student uses goes above and beyond what is expected at such a young age. So much in fact, that it’s understandable why this student vandalized this desk instead of paying attention in class. Not even a department filled with PhDs can properly cultivate this young mind. This poem belongs with other treasures found on desks, such as the phrase “GET NEKKED” and that heart with the crossed out initials.

